top of page

Southampton professor awarded major international research prize

Prof Nicholas Harvey has won a prestigious science award for osteoporosis research.

He has been honoured with the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) Olof Johnell Science Award.

Osteoporosis is a condition that weakens bones, making them fragile and more likely to break. It affects over three million people in the UK.

Prof Harvey received the prize at the 2023 IOF-ESCEO World Congress on Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases in Barcelona, Spain.

Recognising excellence

Prof Harvey is Professor of Rheumatology and Clinical Epidemiology, and Director of the University of Southampton’s MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Centre (MRC LEC). He is part of the NIHR Southampton Biomedical Research Centre’s Nutrition, Lifestyle and Metabolism theme.

The award recognises individuals who have made outstanding contributions to osteoporosis science or policy worldwide.

It is named after the renowned investigator Professor Olof Johnell. His legacy includes major contributions to osteoporosis research, guideline development and healthcare policy.

The award is presented at the annual WCO-IOF-ESCEO. This year's event was opened by Professor Cyrus Cooper, previous MRC LEC Director and current IOF President.

Professor Harvey commented: “It is an enormous honour to receive this prestigious international award. It is accepted very much on behalf of my friends and colleagues at the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Centre.

"It was particularly pleasing that the award was presented by Professor Cyrus Cooper, forerunning MRC LEC Director, my long-standing mentor and friend. He is someone who had known and worked closely with Olof Johnell in the genesis of the modern era of osteoporosis fracture risk assessment.”

Team effort

The WCO-IOF-ESCEO is the world’s largest forum for the presentation of clinical research and new advances in the field.

This year’s event was the first face-to-face WCO meeting since 2019. It attracted over 3,000 delegates, with a similar number joining online.

The work of Southampton early career researchers was also recognised at the event. Stefania D’Angelo, Dr Lucy Gates and Dr Leo Westbury received IOF-ESCEO Young Investigator awards. Dr Faidra Laskou received an IOF Early Career Nutrition Research Award.

bottom of page